NaNoWriMo – Day One

This thing called doubt…

Having done NaNoWriMo for several years now, I sat down at my desk an hour ago to face day one and suddenly found myself filled with inexplicable doubts and fears, wondering what the hell it is I think I’m doing.

Do I have what it takes? Is my writing voice unique enough? Can I tell a good story that will captivate readers?

In sharing these crippling uncertainties with a friend of mine who has read my work and will also be participating in NaNo this year, she passed me the link to the song embedded below. Of course, it temporarily put me into a puddle of tears. But once I’d sniffled and wiped my eyes, I understood the lesson there. Now, I’m ready to take these fears and use them to understand those of the two main characters in the story I’ll be writing.

A simple, yet powerful reminder of who I am and that when I believe in something, I never give up.

So, to all of you out there brave enough to take on the challenge of fifty thousand words in one month while resisting the urge to edit and fiddle as is my downfall:

GO GET ‘EM, TIGER!

NaNoWriMo – Follow what I’m doing

One thought on “NaNoWriMo – Day One

Leave a Reply

