Mia-Wasikowska-in-Alice-i-001

Picture Credit: Alice In Wonderland (Disney movies 2010)

Two months and four days since I last updated here. There is a part of me that feels a little guilty for not having posted as regularly as I possibly should have. But, I have been having the most incredible amount of fun immersed in the world of my book.

There have been highs and lows. Bouts of uncertainty. Times when I’ve questioned my sanity. Times when I’ve needed and been gifted with, the amazing support of my family. I’ve laughed and cried along with my characters. Sat back in surprise when they’ve played a card I didn’t see coming. Cheered when one of them overcame an obstacle. Nibbled my lower lip and held my breath, eager to get back to the keyboard to find out what happens next. At times, I’ve walked around in a daze, completely trapped in their world, functioning at a robotic level in my own. And it has been worth every minute of it!

Late Friday afternoon, I wrote the final piece. Then, I sat back and waited for the heavens to open releasing from the angels a chorus of ‘Hallelujah’. That didn’t happen of course. I probably would have wet myself in terror if it had and called a priest. What followed was a deep glow of satisfaction. That feeling of accomplishment that comes from trudging doggedly after a dream and refusing to give up on either it or yourself.

There is still a long path of editing ahead of me. After which, I take a deep breath, grab my metaphorical nuts in my hand and send my baby out to my beta readers. Scary stuff that since I love it so much and want everyone else to love it too. A synopsis, a detailed summary and a query letter that will grab an agent’s attention in the first five lines, come next.

Yikes! No pressure, right? Wrong. Plenty of pressure. But, it’s pressure that forms the lump of coal into a diamond. I for one, am up for the challenge! I owe my characters, their story, my muse, all those that are supporting me, and my future readers, the decency of my full and best attention.

So here we go. Down the rabbit hole, Alice!

Wish me luck.

P.S. If you should happen to know a Cheshire cat? Send it my way, my muse is looking for a companion.

2 thoughts on “

  1. Absolutely brilliantly written! Such an eloquent description of your journey. šŸ™‚
    Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

  2. Not a Cheshire cat, but would Sparky do? šŸ˜€
    Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

Leave a Reply

