Taking a breath

I’ve been battling for a few days now to sink my teeth into Rebellion. It’s there, I can feel it, even see it in my mind and it taunts me like silver moonbeams on water. Every time I tried to reach out to touch it, it scattered
.
Finally, I listened to Ernie (Yes, I’ve named my muse) and at his urging, got up and walked away from the keyboard. Since I’m someone that hates to even consider the notion of ‘giving up’, it wasn’t easy to do. However, by the time the credits had started to roll on The Giver, it came to me: Genesis (Ross and Antara’s story), isn’t finished yet and until it is, Rebellion simply isn’t going to step up to the plate and allow itself to be told.

Once I’d accepted this and re-opened the manuscript for Genesis this morning, the words once again began to flow. What a joy it was! What a relief! I thoroughly enjoyed capturing the scene that spilt out onto the screen.

Lesson learned: Never give up, always listen to your muse and when your brain becomes constipated, take a break and do something else.

The song below directly relates to the scene that I got to enjoy exploring.

2 thoughts on “Taking a breath

Leave a Reply

