Character Homicide

For about a week now, I’ve been stalled in continuing to write Piercing The Divide: Heritage. While I knew what needed to be written next, the inspiration to do so just wasn’t there and I was unable to hit my stride. What was the problem? Why was I stuck? And whose insistent knock was that on the door of my mind? Who’s voice was progressively getting louder, demanding to be heard?

After chatting back and forth with my co-author for the Sacred Tree saga about the ups and downs of being a writer and where we’re both currently at with our own individual novels, she asked me a few pertinent questions. BLAM! Just like that, my creative inlet unclogged. I threw open the door to my mind to find out who was irritating me and yelling obscenities through the keyhole. Before I could blink, a female character that was intended merely to add a bit of flavour (and has thus far only gotten a few mentions in the outline of my plot), came striding in. She decimated my carefully crafted female love interest and declared herself the evil bitch that would be taking her place, thank-you-very-much!

Needless to say, I was stunned and for a good few minutes just sat there staring. If I gave in to her demands, I was going to have to rewrite an entire chapter not to mention remodeling my plot line. Did the bitch care? Not.One.Little.Bit. In fact, she stood there in my mind tapping her foot while I went off to make coffee and ponder giving her the control she was demanding. Ha! Like I ever had a choice in the matter. By the time I got back to my desk, my original female character was the dust of the past and I could barely even remember her voice, let alone hear it. Naree was here to stay!!

And so, I scrapped the original chapter and began to write it anew. The words just flowed and before I knew it, I had a character intro scene and she’d filled my head with her backstory and motivation. There’s no doubt about it – She’s a demanding, underhanded, manipulative, self-serving bitch. But already I love her for it and hope that she’s one that readers are going to love to hate!

As ever, driven by music when I’m writing, there is only one group fitting for such a ballsy female character: Nightwish – The symphonic metal band from Kitee, Finland.

One thought on “Character Homicide

Leave a Reply

